About us

We, the Scientific Society Autism Spectrum (WGAS), are a non-profit association that has been committed to researching and communicating research results on the subject of autism for over 10 years. 

Our Mission

We support research into autism and related phenomena in all areas of basic and applied science in German-speaking countries; explicitly also in German-speaking Switzerland and Austria. Relevant research areas are behavioral and molecular genetics, functional and structural imaging, neuropsychology, epidemiology, diagnostics and classification, course and quality of life / social integration and evidence-based intervention.

The goals of the society are implemented in particular through scientific events (e.g., the Scientific Conference Autism Spectrum (WTAS)), science prizes, networking and cooperation between researchers, quality management, formation of presentations on research areas, promotion of good scientific practice and information for the public. Individual support measures for autistic people within the framework of applied research are also a purpose of the association.

Board of Directors

Michele Noterdaeme

Prof. Dr. Michele Noterdaeme, Augsburg (Chair)

Prof. Dr. Isabel Dziobek, Berlin (stellv. Vorsitzende)

Prof. Dr. Isabel Dziobek, Berlin (Vice Chair)

Prof. Dr. Inge Kamp-Becker, Marburg

Prof. Dr. Inge Kamp-Becker, Marburg

Dr. Martin Schulte-Rüther, Aachen

Dr. Martin Schulte-Rüther, Göttingen

Christine Falter-Wagner

Prof. Dr. Christine Falter-Wagner, München

Ludger Tebartz van Elst

Prof. Dr. Ludger Tebartz van Elst, Freiburg

Dr. Reinhold Rauh, Freiburg (Kassenwart)

Dr. Reinhold Rauh, Freiburg (Treasurer)

Luise Poustka

Prof. Dr. Luise Poustka, Göttingen

Mareike Altgassen

Prof. Dr. Mareike Altgassen, Mainz


Fabian Diekmann

Fabian Diekmann, Autismus Deutschland e.V., Hamburg

Hajo Seng

Hajo Seng, Aspies e.V., Hamburg

Silke Lipinski

Silke Lipinski, Autismus-Forschungs-Kooperation, Leipzig


Sandra Naumann

Hannelore Griesbaum, Freiburg

Susan Högg, Göttingen (Referentin)

Susan Högg, Göttingen

Honorary members

Sven Bölte

Prof. Dr. Sven Bölte, Stockholm

Christine Freitag

Prof. Dr. Christine Freitag, Frankfurt/M.

Sabine Klauck

PD Dr. Sabine Klauck, Heidelberg

Fritz Poustka

Dr. Fritz Poustka, Frankfurt/M.



Membership application

3 + 3 =



Deutschordenstraße 50

60528 Frankfurt am Main